Women’s cricket Hong Kong squad announced for Dubai qualifier

Kary Chan appointed to be the captain for ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers  Asia Region
Kary Chan appointed to be the captain for ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers Asia Region

Hong Kong, China, October 22, 2021: Cricket Hong Kong has announced a squad of 14 players for the ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers – Asia Region to be held in Dubai, UAE from November 18-29, 2021. 

The tournament will be the first international competition for Hong Kong since the team competed in the East Asia Cup in 2019. 

There are several new faces in the squad, with Heiley Lui and Iqra Sahar selected for their first tournament. The squad also sees the return of Natasha Miles who last represented Hong Kong in 2006. Miles has been playing in the county and Kia Super League competitions in the United Kingdom. 

Head coach Chris Pickett said: “The players have worked incredibly hard over the last two years. It’s been a long time since our last international cricket, so I am incredibly excited to take this squad to the WCQ and see them have a chance to express their skills on the international stage.  

“We have a great balance in the squad with plenty of experience and having Natasha and her experience is only going to add value to the environment.” 

The squad members returning to Hong Kong will complete 21 days quarantine – a required protocol that displays their enthusiasm, according to General Manager Mark Farmer. 

“The commitment shown by the squad to make themselves available despite the quarantine and extended time away from work, family and study is incredible,” he said. 

“It gives a glimpse of the passion that our players have for both cricket and representing Hong Kong on the global stage.” 

The other five teams in the tournament are Bhutan, Malaysia, UAE, Nepal and Kuwait, with only the top team qualifying for the next round towards qualifying for the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup.  

The Hong Kong women’s squad, which has been sponsored by healthcare group Gencor Pacific Ltd since 2019, is: Kary Chan - (Captain, Craigengower CC), Alison Siu (HKCC), Betty Chan (HKCC), Emma Lai (HKCC), Heiley Lui (Craigengower CC), Iqra Sahar (Little Sai Wan CC), Lemon Cheung (HKCC), Maryam Bibi (LSWCC), Mariko Hill (HKCC), Natasha Miles (UK), Ruchitha Venkatesh (HKCC), Shanzeen Shahzad (LSWCC), Tammy Chu (Craigengower CC), Yasmin Daswani (HKCC/ Spencer CC UK) 

Source: www.hkcricket.org