Full Story

© Times of India.
PV Sindhu stands for badminton’s athletes’ commission

13 Apr 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, April 11, 2017: Rio 2016 Olympic silver medallist PV Sindhu of India is among nine nominees to fill four positions on the Badminton World Federation Athletes’ Commission. Following the close of nominations on March 27, three women and six men will stand for election to the body which represents players within the BWF.

They are (in alphabetical order of first name):

Akvile Stapusaityte – LITHUANIA
Edwin Ekiring – UGANDA
Koo Kien Keat – MALAYSIA
Kirsty Gilmour – SCOTLAND
Luis Ramon Garrido Esquivel – MEXICO
Marc Zwiebler – GERMANY
Nikhar Garg – INDIA
Pusarla V Sindhu – INDIA
Yoo Yeon Seong – KOREA

*Three people will be elected to replace outgoing commission members Yuhan Tan (Belgium), Hans-Kristian Solberg Vittinghus (Denmark) and Greysia Polii (Indonesia), who will complete their four-year terms in May.

*At least one male and one female must be elected. The third person will be the candidate (male or female) with the next highest number of votes.

*Additionally, a fourth person – female – will be elected to finish the remaining two years of the term of China’s Tang Yuanting, who became a commission member in 2015 but resigned following her retirement from badminton last year.

*For the first time, voting by email will take place, starting on Wednesday, April 26 and closing on Wednesday, May 24.
Photos : 1
Videos : 0
print this article...

Send to a friend (E-mail this story to a friend)
Your name:  
Your email address:
Your friend e-mail address:
Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.
Choose the latest News
  All News


Subscribe to receive OCA press releases and weekly newsletter

news archive

Search all the OCA news, including press releases, information for the media, Highlights of the Week and the Olympic Review


OCA Directory