Full Story

Paul John (far left) and Anna Richards (far right) with members of the HKG Mens and Womens 7s Squads.
Forty teams to play at Hong Kong Rugby Sevens 2017

15 Mar 2017
Hong Kong, China, March 13, 2017: The Hong Kong Rugby Union held the draw for next month’s Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens 2017 and the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series Qualifier on Monday.

The draw for the men’s event is -

Pool A: England, Australia, Samoa, South Korea.
Pool B: South Africa, Canada, Kenya, France.
Pool C: Fiji, New Zealand, Wales, Japan.
Pool D: USA, Argentina, Scotland, Russia.

The winner of a 12-team World Rugby Sevens Series Qualifier, featuring two teams from each of World Rugby’s six regions, will earn promotion to next year’s Series, replacing the bottom-ranked team after the completion of the 2016-17 season.

The draw for the Qualifier is:

Pool E: Germany, Tonga, Uganda, Jamaica.
Pool F: Hong Kong, Chile, Sri Lanka, Namibia.
Pool G: Spain, Papua New Guinea, Uruguay, Guyana.

The women’s draw is –

Pool A: Japan, China, Netherlands, Jamaica.
Pool B: Argentina, Kenya, Hong Kong, Belgium.
Pool C: South Africa, Colombia, Papua New Guinea, Italy.

Note: The Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens will be played from April 7-9 2017 at the sold-out 40,000-seat Hong Kong Stadium.

For more information please visit the official website at hksevens.com.
Photos : 1
Videos : 0
print this article...

Send to a friend (E-mail this story to a friend)
Your name:  
Your email address:
Your friend e-mail address:
Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.
Choose the latest News
  All News


Subscribe to receive OCA press releases and weekly newsletter

news archive

Search all the OCA news, including press releases, information for the media, Highlights of the Week and the Olympic Review


OCA Directory