Ocasia logo

Noc News

Philippines NOC elects new president

Date : 28 Jul 2019

Manila, Philippines, July 28, 2019: Cycling Federation President Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino was voted Philippine Olympic Committee President over Philip Ella Juico of the Athletics Association during a special general assembly at the Century Park Hotel on Sunday.

Tolentino, 55, garnered 24 votes against Juico’s 20 from 45 voting members present in the proceedings to fill in the post vacated by amateur boxing chief Ricky Vargas, who resigned last June.

Forty-one votes came from various national sports associations, while three individual votes were cast by IOC Member Mikee Cojuangco-Jaworski and Athletes’ Commission representatives Hidilyn Diaz and Henry Dagmil. There was one abstention.

Handball’s Steve Hontiveros also won the chairmanship after besting taekwondo’s Robert Aventajado, 26-18, while winning as Board Members are Clint Aranas of archery (24 votes) and Cynthia Carrion of gymnastics (23 votes).

“Let’s set aside the differences and move forward,’” said Tolentino after his proclamation.

“Let us all move forward and focus on hosting the Southeast Asian Games this year,” he added.

Tolentino and the new officers will only be serving until November next year – or during the last day of the Olympic cycle.

A committee made up of lawyer Teddy Kalaw, Letran athletic director Fr. Vic Calvo and Party-List Rep. Conrado Estrella oversaw the elections along with IOC Member Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra, who served as an observer.



Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.