Ocasia logo

2017 Hong Kong Open champions Nour El Sherbini (left) and Mohamed El Shorbagy, both of Egypt.

Sports News

Hong Kong Squash Open to offer equal prize money for women and men

Date : 16 Oct 2018

Hong Kong, China, October 16, 2018: The 2018 Everbright Sun Hung Kai Hong Kong Squash Open has committed to offering equal prize money for the first time, with $329,000 split equally between the men’s and women’s draws at the PSA World Tour Platinum event from November 19-25.

This means that every Platinum tournament on the PSA Tour that runs a men and women’s event simultaneously – comprising the US Open, Tournament of Champions, El Gouna International, British Open and now the Hong Kong Open – have all committed to equal prize money.

The news comes after the Professional Squash Association (PSA) released figures in July confirming that the pay gap between male and female players on the PSA Tour dropped by almost a third during the 2017/18 season compared to the 2016/17 campaign.

“Since merging with the Women’s Squash Association (WSA) in 2015, the PSA have been committed to achieving equality in prize money and playing opportunities for our male and female athletes, and we are pleased to see that the Hong Kong Open has joined our other Platinum tournaments in offering equal prize money,” said PSA Chief Executive Alex Gough.

“The Hong Kong Open is one of the longest-running tournaments on the PSA Tour and we would like to thank Hong Kong Squash for their hard work in ensuring that there will be parity in earnings for the 2018 edition.”

The tournament will be held at the Hong Kong Squash Centre from November 19-22 before moving to the glass court built at the Hong Kong Park Sports Centre from November 23-25.

In addition to the prize money, a place at the PSA World Tour Finals is also on offer, with the winners of the tournament earning a coveted berth at the season-ending event.

Action from every round of the tournament will be shown live on SQUASHTV (Rest of World) and Eurosport Player (Europe Only), while the semi-finals and finals will be shown live on mainstream broadcast channels around the world, including BT Sport, beIN Sports, Fox Sports Australia and Astro.



Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.